Village Bítov owes its existence and form Vranov dam construction. The waters of this dam flooded the original Old Bitov, which was situated in the valley below the castle of the same name. The first mention dates back to the 11 century in the charter Stará chapter. Throughout its history, has undergone several reconstructions Bitov and was in possession of many noble families were like: Přemyslids, Lichtenburg, Jankovští of Vlašim Strejnové of Švarcenavy, Daunové, and Zamioisky Radziwillové. The last owner Baron George Hass, who founded a unique collection of stuffed animals, especially dogs, which is the largest in Europe. Equally unique is the castle's armory, which was reopened in June 2003.
The village has many historical monuments, which for its architectural value are recorded in the State Register of Cultural Monuments.
Village Bítov was begun in May 1932 and was built nearly half a year in the month of October, after approval has been forwarded to the first owners of houses.
Attractive location at the Vranov dam Bitov destined to become holiday
and tourist center. He grew up here over 500 holiday chalets and during the summer season, thousands of visitors pass through here, many of whom return every year like here.